America’s Horse in Art

Wayne Baize's art features six Quarter Horses.

America’s Horse in Art returns to the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame & Museum in August, and a painting by renowned western artist Wayne Baize will be the signature piece for the third annual art show. 

The public is invited to the America’s Horse in Art opening, which will take place Saturday, August 14. Many of the talented artists will be at the opening and available to discuss the inspiration for their art work. The opening will be 5:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m. at the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame & Museum and will feature live music, hors d’œuvres and cocktails.

America’s Horse in Art: The Horse That Settled the West show and sale will continue through November 13 in the Scharbauer Gallery in the museum. 

Baize’s painting features six American Quarter Horses, animals that he is quite familiar with. At an early age, Baize learned the value of a good horse and as a youth helped break colts. Later, he and his brother, Arlon, raised American Quarter Horses. Wayne has been a professional artist for more than 35 years and has had his work reproduced on the covers of many magazines, including The American Quarter Horse Journal.

He was elected to membership of the Cowboy Artists of America in 1995 and has served as director, vice president and president of the organization. The Cowboy Artists of America began in 1965 with two goals – to ensure authentic representation of the life of the west (as it was and is) as typified by the late Fredrick Remington and Charles Russell, and to ensure western art continued to rise in stature in the fine art world. Since then the CAA has expanded to become the most prestigious and widely recognized group of western artists. The membership is highly selective.

Wayne and his wife, Ellen, live on a small ranch near Fort Davis, Texas. To see more examples of Baize’s work, visitwww.waynebaizeca.com/.  

“We are fortunate to have such a talented group of western artists display their work for the third annual America’s Horse in Art Show and Sale,” said Don Treadway Jr., AQHA’s Executive Vice President. “The American Quarter Horse has long been a focus of western art, and we appreciate these great artists joining together to support the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame & Museum and help to protect the history of these amazing animals.”  

Each piece of art – ranging from pencil drawings to sculptures – will be available for purchase. Proceeds from the sale of the art will go to the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame to support its efforts to preserve the history of the American Quarter Horse, but due to IRS regulations, the art is not tax-deductible. The complete collection will be viewable atwww.aqhahalloffame.com in August.

America’s Horse in Art will feature works by: 

Ruth Andre, http://ruthandre.com/
Don Bell, www.donbellgalleries.com/about.php
Mary Ross Buchholz, http://maryrossbuchholz.com/
Brenda Bruckner, www.bbruckner.com/
Buckeye Blake, www.theblakestudios.com/buckeyeblake.html
Teal Blake, http://tealblake.com/
Steve Devenyns, www.stevedevenyns.com/
Mikel Donahue, www.mikeldonahue.com/
Dyrk Godby, www.dyrkgodby.com/
Bruce Graham, www.brucegrahamart.com/
Sheri Greves-Neilson, www.grevesneilson.com/
Don Hambrick
Harold Holden, http://hholden.com/
Rick Jackson
Connie Johnson
Greg Kelsey, http://gregkelsey.com/
T.D. Kelsey, www.tdkelsey.com/
Mark Kohler, www.markkohlerstudio.com/
Earl Kuhn, www.earlkuhn.com/
Mehl Lawson, http://cowboyartistsofamerica.com/members/mehl_lawson/active
Jan Mapes, www.janmapes.com/
Gary Morton, http://garymortonart.com/
Lisa Perry, www.lisaperry.com/
Jason Scull, www.jasonscull.com/
Jack Sorenson, www.joewadefineart.com/sorenson.shtml
Buck Taylor, www.bucktaylor.com/
Karmel Timmons, www.karmeltimmons.com/
K.W. Whitley

The above list is a tentative list and continues to expand. Visit www.aqhhalloffame.com for the latest information on artists participating in the show.

Speak Your Mind

*