Chinook Celebrates the Year

Hi-Pt. Youth Becker Buckles presented by Shaylene Hunter of Shay's Tack & Feed to the Senior Youth Winner, Aliss Mackay

Junior Youth Hi-Point Winner Josie Abraham

The Chinook Team Penning Association (CTPA) Year-end Awards Banquet was held on September 11th, in conjunction with the 2010 Regional Finals.  The top five teams of the Open, Ltd., #10, #7 and #5 Classes and the top three junior and senior youth riders were recognized with gorgeous custom silver buckles, monogrammed bridles, bits, spur straps and splint boots from Becker Buckles, The Mill Store, Shay’s Tack & Feed and Frontier Western Store.

Hi-Pt. Ltd. Open Rider - Ken Crawford (Bronze presented by Deb Thompson on behalf of Tesla Exploration)

The high point of the evening (pun intended) was the presentation of Bob’s Custom “Chinook Penner” saddles to the four lucky hi-point riders:  Hugh McPherson, Kelly Mackay, Yvonne Harris and Beau Riedel.  As well, Ken Crawford was the Hi-Pt. Ltd. Open Rider and received a trophy “penning” bronze.

Open Class Hi-Pt. Rider - Hugh McPherson (Marci Green presenting on behalf of The Mill Store)

#10 Class Hi-Pt. Rider - Kelly Mackay (Rick Bond of Canmark Roofing presenting)

#7 Class Hi-Pt. Rider - Yvonne Harris (Tony DiStefano presenting for Rolling Mix Concrete)

#5 Class Hi-Pt. Rider - Beau Reidel (Donna O'Reilly presenting for O'Reilly O'Rena)

Another important event during the banquet is revealing the winner of the Sandy Fergie Memorial Trophy.  Chosen by his peers this year was Don Poole.  Along with serving on the Board and being a generally great volunteer, Don and his wife Marlene are dedicated organizers of the CTPA Stampede Parade entry.

Thanks to the beautiful photographic talents of Nicole Elliott (, all year-end award pictures are available for viewing at

~ Submitted by Lillian Dalton