Chinook Team Penning Update


The Mill Store Open Class winners Darryl Bruce, Ken Crawford, and Brian Dick.

The Okotoks Ag. Society produced and hosted three Chinook Penning shows April 30, May 14 and June 4. Attendance at all three shows, some luck and hard riding resulted in the opportunity to win some great Hi-Point prizes, namely monogrammed sheets from K & K Livestock. Karen & Ken Mix also sponsored Fast Time prizes in the Open, #10, #7 and #5 Classes.

Ten Class winners Pia Bond and Kendra Roberts (missing is Lindy Barron).

Christine Sowiak – who recently stepped down from the flagger’s perch to give penning another try – was on the winning #10 and #7 teams on April 30; Ken Crawford placed 1st in the Open, Ltd. And #10 classes on May 14; Kerry-Lynn Lariviere won the #10 and #7 Classes on May 14; Hugh McPherson swept the Open, Ltd. and #10 Classes on June 4 and Margaret Olson took home the first place cheques in the #10 and #7 Classes on June 4. Lillian Dalton (me!) won the Fast Time Vic Bennett Breast Collar in the Open Class with Sal Howell and Rick Dalton and Lillian also won the #7 Fast Tiime saddle pad with Wendy and Kim Campbell. Yvonne Harris won both the #7 and #5 Hi-Point!

Seven Class winners Yvonne Harris, Butch MacPherson and Denise Peters.

Congratulations to the Hi-Point Winners for the Series:

    • Open: Ken Crawford, Brian Dick, Darryl Bruce
      #10: Lindy Barron, Pia Bond, Kendra Roberts
      #7: Yvonne Harris Butch MacPherson, Denise Peters
      #5: Samantha Chretien, Yvonne Harris, Shelley Relitz
      Senior Youth: Megan Bond
      Junior Youth: Sonya DiStefano
  • Seven Class winners Shelly Relitz, Sam Chretien and Yvonne Harris.


    1. Hi There:

      I know Butch Macpherson from a long time ago in Brookline Mass.
      I would like to catch up!

      Thanks, Kevin J Thiffault.