Calgary Stampede Rangeland Derby


The Greatest Outdoor Show on Earth kicked off on a wonderful Friday night in Calgary with the running of the 88th running of the Calgary Stampede Rangeland Derby. It was a perfect night for racing with ideal track and weather conditions, and the day saw 2-time Calgary Stampede Aggregate winner Jason Glass, driving the Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick outfit, open the 2010 Rangeland Derby with the top time of 1:14.84.

Coming off barrel number 2 in heat number 7, Glass won top money by just 6 one-hundreds of a second over 10-time Calgary Stampede Rangeland Derby champion Kelly Sutherland. Kurt Bensmiller was third, while rookie driver Devin Mitsuing placed fourth and Ray Mitsuing rounded out the top 5 for the night.

The aggregate winner will be declared after 8 nights on Friday, July 16, and the top 8 in the aggregate on that day will go into “Semi Final Saturday.” The top 4 times from heats 8 and 9 on semi final Saturday on July 17 will go into the sudden death championship final heat. The winner of the final heat will be declared the 2010 Calgary Stampede Rangeland Derby Champion.

The chuckwagon races from the Calgary Stampede Rangeland Derby which will run at 8:00pm every night.

Billy Melville

Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Jason Glass Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick 1:14.84
2 Kelly Sutherland Lucid/Lux Chuckwagon Team 1:14.90
3 Kurt Bensmiller WestJet 1:14.95
4 Devin Mitsuing 1-800-Drywall 1:15.46
5 Ray Mitsuing Friends of Heritage Park 1:15.60
6 Luke Tournier The Cowboys Posse 1:15.63
7 Troy Dorchester The Roadhouse Nightclub & Continental Imaging 1:15.72
8 Neal Walgenbach Team YYC Calgary International Airport 1:15.79
9 Roger Moore Lynx Brand Fence Products 1:15.93
10 Gary Gorst RE/ MAX Realtors of Calgary & Area 1:16.00
11 Rick Fraser Heninger Toyota / Chickwagon! Foundation for Women 1:16.23
12 Mark Sutherland 1:16.50
13 Brian Laboucane The Mavericks 1:16.60
14/15 Grant Profit AGF Alberta Rebar Inc. 1:16.81
14/15 Wayne Knight Express Employment Professionals 1:16.81
16 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel\’s Transport 1:16.85
17 Shane Nolin Bell 1:16.94
18 Buddy Bensmiller Blackfoot Crossing Historical Park 1:16.96
19 Chad Harden ATB Financial 1:17.22
20 Vern Nolin BKDI Architects 1:17.27
21 Layne MacGillivray Impact 2000 Inc. 1:17.39
22 Grant Preece MaXfield Inc. 1:17.72
23/24 Kirk Sutherland Calgary Archives Inc. 1:17.76
23/24 Jim Knight Universal Industries 1:17.76
25 Mike Vigen Cell Bridge Communications Corp 1:17.81
26 Brian Mayan Horizons Exchange Traded Funds 1:17.89
27 Barry Hodgson Friends of the Calgary Food Bank – AltaGas 1:18.81
28 Reg Johnstone Matco Financial Inc & MFI Group of Funds 1:19.08
29 Rae Croteau Jr. Stony Nakoda Resort & Casino 1:19.19
30 Leo Tournier Friends of the Mavericks 1:20.12
31 Jerry Bremner Gunthers Masonry Construction 1:20.22
32 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:20.46
33 Tim Haroldson Busted Ladies Lingerie 1:22.39
34 Tyler Helmig Pidherney\’s From Start To Finish 1:23.31
35 Hugh Sinclair Airstream Heating & Air Conditioning 1:25.26
36 Troy Flad Strate-Line Inspection Ltd. 1:28.51

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart