Dodge World Chuckwagon Championships


The 2010 professional chuckwagon racing season is in the books, and the final race of 2010 was an exciting finish to an outstanding season. Grant Profit, driving the Ja-Co Welding & Consulting Ltd. Outfit, and along with outriders Chance Flad and Chanse Vigen, captured Edmonton’s Chuckwagon Derby at the season ending Dodge World Chuckwagon Championships for 2010.

Coming off barrel position number 3 in the sudden death championship final heat number 9, Grant Profit, despite a 1 second late outrider penalty, won the 2010 Edmonton Championship by posting the best time of 1:16.89, and won the heat by just 4 one-hundreds of a second over aggregate leader Mike Vigen who was runner up with a penalty free run from barrel position number 1. Layne MacGillivray, who was making his first appearance in a WPCA sudden death final, had a penalty free run and placed third from barrel position number 2, leaving Luke Tournier in 4th place in the sudden death final with a penalty free run from barrel number 4.

Top time of the night went to Mark Sutherland, driving the York Realty Inc. outfit with a time of 1:16.82 from barrel position number 1 in the opening heat. Grant Profit was 2nd for the night 7 one-hundreds of a second behind the day winner Mark Sutherland. Jerry Bremner and Mike Vigen split 3rd and 4th for the night, with Obrey Motowylo rounding out the top 5.

The annual WPCA Qualification Run Off is set for September 9 – 12, and will once again be held in Bashaw, Alberta. The top 30 wagons from the 2010 WPCA Dodge Pro Tour automatically qualify for the 2011 WPCA Dodge Pro Tour. All other wagons who would like to earn the privilege to compete on the 2011 WPCA Dodge Pro Tour must do so through the qualification run off. Racing will go every night at 6:30pm.

Congratulations to the 2010 World Champions, driver Kelly Sutherland and outrider Chanse Vigen, and many thanks to all the corporate partners, support staff and chuckwagon fans all along the 2010 WPCA Dodge Pro Tour. Enjoy a safe and prosperous off-season, and we will see you all in 2011.

~ Billy Melville

Day 5 Results
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Mark Sutherland York Realty Inc. 1:16.82
2 Grant Profit Ja-Co Welding & Consulting 1:16.89
3/4 Jerry Bremner TrailBlazer RV Centre 1:16.93
3/4 Mike Vigen Cell Bridge Commuinications Corp. 1:16.93
5 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:16.95
6 Kurt Bensmiller Stahl Peterbilt 1:17.52
7 Troy Flad Ironwood Building Systems 1:17.75
8 Jason Johnstone Parkland Fertilizers 1:17.76
9 Buddy Bensmiller World Financial Group 1:17.84
10 Cody Ridsdale McCuaig Desrochers LLP 1:17.99
11 Layne MacGilIivray CISN Country 103.9 FM 1:18.00
12 Luke Tournier Reliance Industrial Products 1:18.16
13 Rae Croteau Jr. TOMCO Group of Companies 1:18.48
14 Darcy Flad Sarasota Homes 1:18.57
15 Chad Harden Image Distributors 1:18.61
16 Troy Dorchester Team Rig & Supply/Decarson Rentals 1:18.62
17 Chance Bensmiller Pennock Acheson Nielsen Devaney 1:18.67
18/19 Evan Salmond Debolt Contracting 1:18.70
18/19 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:18.70
20 Jason Glass 630 CHED Radio 1:18.71
21 Barry Hodgson Crystal Kids 1:18.86
22 Tim Haroldson We Love Edmonton 1:18.91
23 John Walters Drifters Casing Service 1:18.94
24 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel\’s Transport Ltd. 1:19.06
25 Sean DeBolt Passion Parties 1:19.26
26 Codey McCurrach Alberta Pressure Testing 1:19.34
27 Jordie Fike Blazer Insurance 1:19.38
28 Rick Fraser Terra Energy Rentals 1:19.49
29 Kirk Sutherland Pipestone Carriers Inc. 1:19.73
30 Hugh Sinclair Western Star Trucks 1:19.80
31 Lincoln Douglas All Weather Windows 1:20.31
32 Colt Cosgrave Tri-Service Oilfield Manufacturing Ltd. 1:20.33
33 Kelly Sutherland Northwell Oilfield Hauling (2009) Inc. 1:20.35
34 Shane Cartier Canadian Western Bank 1:20.56
35 Reg Johnstone Direct Horizontal Drilling 1:23.58
36 Cliff Cunningham Basnett Truck Service 1:24.59

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart