Battle of the North Finals

It was a record tying 5th time that Kelly Sutherland has won the Dawson Creek title.


Sutherland won the sudden death final with a penalty free run of 1:15.21 from barrel position number 2, 1.5 seconds faster than Jason Glass who placed 2nd from barrel position number 3, followed by Jerry Bremner who placed 3rd from barrel position number 4, with Colt Cosgrave finishing 4th from barrel position number 1. Cosgrave crossed the finish line in 2nd place, but a 5 second penalty dropped him to 4th in Sunday’s final. Earlier in the night Sutherland also received the Kenn Borek Memorial Award for Most Sportsmanlike Driver.

As far as the day results go, Obrey Motowylo, driving the H & E Oilfield Services Outfit, won the day money after establishing a new track record with a 1:13.80. Coming off barrel number 2 in heat number 4, Motowylo beat the old mark of 1:14.36 set by Jason Glass in 2008 by 56 one hundreds of a second, and placed first overall for the day by just 12 one-hundreds of a second of a second over Grant Profit who placed 2nd for the day. Rick Fraser, Reg Johnstone and Kirk Sutherland rounded out the top 5 for the night.

The WPCA Dodge Pro Tour now moves onto Rocky Mountain House for the inaugural Battle of the Rockies Championship starting Thursday, August 19 and running through to Sunday, August 22. Racing will go Thursday through Saturday evenings starting at 7:00pm with Sunday’s finals starting at2:00pm. Live radio coverage of the Battle of the Rockies from Rocky Mountain House, Alberta can be heard starting at 6:45pm Thursday through Saturday and Sunday starting at 1:45pm on Classic Country AM1060 out of Calgary, 890AM CJDC out of Dawson Creek and 99.7 FM The Wolf out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville

Borek Construction Ltd.
Kelly Sutherland – Driver
Reo King, Chanse Vigen – Outriders
Sudden Death Championship Final Heat For The 2010 Battle of the North Championship (By Barrel Draw)
1 Colt Cosgrave High River Autoplex & RV
2 Kelly Sutherland Borek Construction Ltd.
3 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd.
4 Jerry Bremner Tiggo Transport Ltd.
Kenn Borek Memorial Award (Most Sportsmanlike Driver)
Kelly Sutherland
Day 5 Results
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services 1:13.80
2 Grant Profit Ja-Co Welding & Consulting Ltd 1:13.92
3 Rick Fraser Horizon Hauling 1:13.95
4 Reg Johnstone Michalchuk Bros. L Contractors Ltd. 1:14.80
5 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:14.96
6 Troy Dorchester VJV Dawson Creek Auction 1:15.13
7 Kelly Sutherland Borek Construction Ltd. 1:15.21
8 Mark Sutherland Pipestone Carriers Inc. 1:15.22
9 Rae Croteau Jr. TOMCO Group of Companies 1:15.42
10 Cliff Cunningham Basnett Truck Service 1:15.45
11 Troy Flad Ironwood Building Systems 1:15.86
12 Layne MacGilIivray Impact 2000 Inc. 1:15.87
13 Cody Ridsdale Tripple K Oilfield Services 1:15.88
14 Barry Hodgson GD Cornish Trucking Ltd. 1:16.25
15 Chad Harden Hardcastle Developments Ltd. 1:16.27
16 Lincoln Douglas Savage Oilfield Rentals 1:16.30
17/18 Hugh Sinclair Specialized Tech Inc. 1:16.46
17/18 Buddy Bensmiller World Financial Group 1:16.46
19 Tim Haroldson Affordable Barns 1:16.62
20 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel\’s Transport Ltd. 1:16.65
21 Jason Johnstone CSI Canada Safety 1:16.70
22 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:16.71
23 Kurt Bensmiller Ditmarsia Holdings 1:17.03
24/25 John Walters Arrow Insurance Agency Ltd 1:17.15
24/25 Jerry Bremner Tiggo Transport Ltd. 1:17.15
26 Shane Cartier Caradan Chemicals Inc. 1:17.33
27 Darcy Flad S/S Ranch 1:17.37
28 Evan Salmond BLT First Aide Services 1:17.47
29 Codey McCurrach Pride H2S Safety & Medical 1:17.69
30 Chance Bensmiller Pomeroy Inn & Suites 1:17.79
31 Brian Mayan H & M Meats 1:18.04
32 Sean DeBolt WN Oilfield 1:18.10
33 Jordie Fike Penn West Energy 1:18.19
34 Luke Tournier Happy Trails RV 1:19.80
35 Colt Cosgrave High River Autoplex & RV 1:21.23
36 Mike Vigen Lakeside Oilfield Services 1:22.21

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart