Down to the Final Four

Three World Professional Chuckwagon Association drivers – Kirk Sutherland, Kelly Sutherland and Jason Glass will be joined by aggregate winner and former longtime WPCA driver Neal Walgenbach in Sunday’s final. It will be the 4th appearance in the final for Kirk Sutherland, the 5th for Jason Glass, the 19th appearance in the final for Kelly Sutherland, the 4th for Neal Walgenbach. Gary Gorst missed the final by 11 one-hundreds of a second.


Day 9 also saw Kirk Sutherland, driving the Cam Clark Ford outfit, record the fast time of the night with a 1:14.68. Coming off barrel number 2 in semi-final heat number 8, Sutherland won top money by 65 one-hundreds of a second over Wayne Knight who placed 2nd for the night, followed by Kelly Sutherland, Jason Glass and Rick Fraser who filled out the top five for the night.

The finals from the Calgary Stampede Rangeland Derby which will run at 8:00pm on Sunday, July 18.

~ Billy Melville

Rank Driver Sponsor
1 Kirk Sutherland Cam Clark Ford
2 Kelly Sutherland Lucid/Lux Chuckwagon Team
3 Jason Glass Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick
4 Neal Walgenbach Team YYC Calgary International Airport
Day 9 Results
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Kirk Sutherland Cam Clark Ford 1:14.68
2 Wayne Knight Express Employment Professionals 1:15.33
3 Kelly Sutherland Lucid/Lux Chuckwagon Team 1:15.37
4 Jason Glass Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick 1:15.38
5 Rick Fraser Heninger Toyota / Chickwagon! Foundation for Women 1:15.62
6 Léo Tournier Crescent Point Energy & Friends of the Mavericks 1:15.90
7 Neal Walgenbach Team YYC Calgary International Airport 1:16.09
8 Hugh Sinclair Airstream Heating & Air Conditioning 1:16.14
9 Gary Gorst RE/ MAX Realtors of Calgary & Area 1:16.20
10 Luke Tournier The Cowboys Posse & Royal Liquor Merchants 1:16.47
11 Tyler Helmig Pidherney\’s From Start To Finish 1:16.72
12 Jerry Bremner Oak Environment Inc/Foothills Creamery 1:16.77
13 Chad Harden ATB Financial 1:16.84
14 Roger Moore Lynx Brand Fence Products 1:16.92
15 Buddy Bensmiller Blackfoot Crossing Historical Park 1:16.98
16 Troy Dorchester The Roadhouse Nightclub and Continential Imaging Products 1:17.40
17 Reg Johnstone Matco Financial Inc & MFI Group of Funds 1:17.42
18 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:17.49
19 Barry Hodgson Calgary Food Bank Burnett, Duckworth & Palmer LLP 1:17.64
20 Vern Nolin Mayfair Diagnostics 1:17.72
21 Tim Haroldson Desjardins Financial Security 1:17.82
22 Layne MacGillivray Impact 2000 Inc. 1:17.85
23 Devin Mitsuing 1-800-Drywall 1:17.87
24 Mike Vigen Cell Bridge Communications Corp 1:18.15
25 Brian Laboucane The Mavericks 1:18.18
26 Grant Preece MaXfield Inc. 1:18.38
27 Jim Knight Talisman Energy 1:18.97
28 Grant Profit Thru Tubing Solutions 1:19.99
29 Kurt Bensmiller WestJet 1:20.89
30 Brian Mayan Bernie Brown\’s Boot Hill Gallery 1:21.11
31 Mark Sutherland 1:21.55
32 Troy Flad Canadian Tubular Services Inc. 1:24.39
33 Ray Mitsuing Friends of Heritage Park 1:25.48
34 Rae Croteau Jr. Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino 1:27.28
35 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel\’s Transport 1:33.16
36 Shane Nolin Bell 1:33.22

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart